Meri Dukan Mere Naam Scheme 2026: Complete Guide for Punjab Shopkeepers
Royals Property Consultant is a trusted name for buying, selling, renting, and investing in residential and commercial properties in Zirakpur, Mohali, Chandigarh, and New Chandigarh.

Meri Dukan Mere Naam Scheme 2026: Complete Guide for Punjab Shopkeepers
Eligibility, collector-rate slabs, documents, the 6 November deadline and exactly what is still unclear — written for ordinary shopkeepers, not lawyers.
Facts last checked: 10 October 2026 · ⏱ 14 min read
⚡ Quick Answer — Who Can Apply?
As announced on 8 October 2026, a shopkeeper may qualify for ownership under the Meri Dukan Mere Naam scheme if the shop is owned by a Punjab Municipal Corporation, Municipal Council or Nagar Panchayat, the applicant is its tenant or lessee (not a sub-tenant), and legal possession can be shown for 12 years before 1 April 2020. Concessional payment slabs are reported only for shops under 50 square metres. Private rented shops are not covered.
How to read this article
We could not find the scheme’s own notification, application form or an online portal at the time of writing. So every rule below is tagged: Media-reported = stated by news outlets quoting the minister’s announcement, not yet seen in official rules · Conflicting = outlets disagree · Unclear = not reported anywhere we could check. Please confirm every point with your municipal office before you act.
For decades, thousands of Punjab traders have run their businesses from shops that belong to the local municipality. They paid rent, renewed leases, and still never owned the counter they stood behind. On 8 October 2026, Local Government Minister Harjot Singh Bains announced a way out: the Meri Dukan Mere Naam scheme, which lets eligible long-term tenants of municipal shops pay a prescribed amount linked to the collector rate and become owners.
The announcement is real and widely reported. The fine print is where shopkeepers get into trouble. Reports differ on the size limit, the documents are described loosely, and we could not locate the notification or form that would settle those questions. This guide gives you what has been reported, what conflicts, and what you must confirm in writing before you spend money or time.
The reported application deadline is 6 November 2026 — about four weeks from the date we last checked. That is not long if you need to dig out old rent receipts and income papers.
What Is the Meri Dukan Mere Naam Scheme?
The Meri Dukan Mere Naam scheme is a Punjab Government initiative that, according to reports, gives ownership rights to shopkeepers who occupy rented or leased shops owned by urban local bodies. The Tribune reports it as applicable across 116 urban local bodies in the state. Its stated purpose is to give small traders who have operated for years without proprietary rights a legal title to their shop.
Media-reported Naming differs between outlets: The Tribune calls it “Meri Dukan Mere Ban”, while Babushahi, UNI and Punjab News Express use “Meri Dukan, Mere Naam”. Most outlets use the second form, so we do too.
Tenancy vs. ownership — why the difference matters
A tenant has a right to use the shop as long as the lease or tenancy lasts and rent is paid. The municipality remains the owner. It can raise rent, auction the premises, or take them back, subject to the law. An owner holds the title: they can sell, mortgage, pass the shop to heirs, and are not dependent on the municipality’s renewal. Banks lend more readily against a registered title than against a tenancy.
Punjab has a long-running problem here. Minister Bains said, as reported by The Tribune, that hundreds of local-body properties are either stuck in litigation or have tenants who are not paying rent. The scheme is partly a way to clear that backlog.
Latest Scheme Update & Application Deadline
| Item | Detail | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Announcement | Thursday, 8 October 2026, press conference at Punjab Bhawan, Chandigarh | Media-reported |
| Last date to apply | 6 November 2026 | Media-reported |
| Days left (as of 10 Oct 2026) | 27 days | Calculated |
| Where to apply | Offices of the concerned local body (Municipal Corporation / Council reported) | Media-reported |
| Official notification / form | Not located by us | Unclear |
| Online application | None reported | Unclear |
One thing to avoid: a Punjab Government gazette notification dated 31 January 2026 amends the Punjab Management and Transfer of Municipal Properties Rules, 2021. According to a summary of that notification, it deals with “chunk sites” of ₹20 crore and above and the instalment schedule for properties sold by local bodies. It does not mention shopkeeper ownership. Do not treat it as the scheme’s rulebook.
Who Is Eligible?
Based on the announcement as reported by Babushahi, The Tribune and Punjab News Express, here is the eligibility picture. All of it is Media-reported.
1. Municipal ownership
The shop must be owned by a Municipal Corporation, Municipal Council or Nagar Panchayat. A shop in a private market, a builder’s complex, or on a trust’s land does not qualify.
2. Tenant or lessee status
You must be the person who rents or leases the shop from the local body. Your name should be on the tenancy or lease records, or you must be able to show how you stepped into them.
3. Twelve years of legal possession
You must show 12 years of legal possession before 1 April 2020. Counting back, that points to possession from around 1 April 2008 or earlier. This is our reading of the reported wording; ask the office how it counts a break in possession.
4. Income slab and shop size
The amount you pay depends on annual income and the area’s collector rate. Concessional slabs are reported only for shops measuring less than 50 square metres.
Evidence of possession
Government statements reportedly say applicants will not face a complicated paperwork process and that valid documents showing occupation, such as GST certificates, electricity bills and voter cards, can be submitted. Whether any single document is enough, or whether the committee will want several, has not been reported. Treat these as examples, not a complete list.
Not every rented shop is covered
This scheme is about municipal shops. If you rent from a private landlord, a cooperative society or a developer, this scheme does not apply to you, however long you have been there.
Who Is Not Eligible?
- Sub-tenants. The government has said sub-tenants are not eligible. Media-reported If the original tenant let you use the shop and you pay rent to them, you are probably in this group.
- Shops or structures on parks, streets or public utility land. These will not be regularised. Media-reported
- Applicants who cannot show 12 years of legal possession before 1 April 2020. Media-reported
- Shops belonging to bodies other than Punjab’s municipal corporations, councils and Nagar Panchayats. That includes Chandigarh (a Union Territory) and Panchkula (in Haryana), which are outside this Punjab scheme.
Unclear Whether further exclusions exist (for example for defaulters, disputed tenancies or encroached portions) has not been reported. The full rules will tell us.
Meri Dukan Mere Naam Scheme Rates — Complete Table
The payment is calculated as a share of the collector rate, the government’s benchmark valuation for property in that locality. Four slabs have been reported:
| Annual income | Category (as reported) | Payment as % of collector rate | Applies to shop size | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Below ₹3 lakh | EWS | 12.5% | Under 50 sq m | Media-reported |
| ₹3 lakh – ₹8 lakh | LIG | 25% | Under 50 sq m | Media-reported |
| ₹8 lakh – ₹15 lakh | MIG | 50% | Under 50 sq m | Media-reported |
| Above ₹15 lakh | — | 100% | Under 50 sq m (reported) | Media-reported |
| Shops of 50 sq m or more | — | Not reported | Concession not available | Unclear |
Babushahi, UNI (partly), Punjab News Express and Update Punjab carry these slabs; the Tribune says shopkeepers are divided into three income categories without listing the figures. The same outlets say concessional rates apply only to shops under 50 square metres.
Conflict: square metres or square yards?
Conflicting The Tribune reports the limit as “up to 50 square yards”. Babushahi and Punjab News Express say “less than 50 square metres”. These are not the same: 50 square yards is roughly 42 square metres. If your shop falls between the two figures, the difference could decide your slab. Ask for the notified figure in writing.
Questions the reports leave open
- Unclear Whether “annual income” means the applicant’s own income, the family’s, or the business’s. We have not assumed household income.
- Unclear Which slab applies at the boundaries (exactly ₹3 lakh, ₹8 lakh, ₹15 lakh).
- Unclear Which year’s income counts, and what proof is accepted.
- Unclear Whether the 100% slab is the way larger shops are priced, or only a ceiling for small ones.
How Much Will You Have to Pay? Worked Examples
Three terms get mixed up. The collector rate is the government’s benchmark value for the locality. The market value is what a buyer would actually pay, and it can be higher or lower. The scheme amount is the share of the collector-rate value you pay under your slab. Under the reported structure, market value does not enter the calculation.
The table below uses made-up collector-rate values only to show the arithmetic. They are not rates for any real area, and they are not a quote for any shop.
| Hypothetical collector-rate value of the shop | 12.5% (EWS) | 25% (LIG) | 50% (MIG) | 100% |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ₹5,00,000 | ₹62,500 | ₹1,25,000 | ₹2,50,000 | ₹5,00,000 |
| ₹10,00,000 | ₹1,25,000 | ₹2,50,000 | ₹5,00,000 | ₹10,00,000 |
| ₹20,00,000 | ₹2,50,000 | ₹5,00,000 | ₹10,00,000 | ₹20,00,000 |
Illustrative only. Your actual amount will depend on the official valuation of your shop, the price fixed by the district-level committee, and any other charges, payment schedule or fees that the rules specify. None of those have been reported yet, so please do not budget from this table.
A practical point: the percentage is applied to a value that you do not control. Two shops of the same size in the same market can be valued differently depending on how the collector rate is mapped. Ask the municipal office which rate they will use and for which date.
Documents Required
No prescribed checklist has been published that we could find. What follows is what the reports mention, plus the kinds of record that usually support a claim like this. Please do not treat it as the official list. Confirm with your municipal office which items are mandatory.
A. Identity and address
- Aadhaar / PAN
- Voter card (named in reports as possible evidence)
- Current address proof
B. Tenancy, lease and rent records
- Lease deed or allotment letter, if any
- Rent receipts and municipal rent ledger entries
- Any municipal notices or correspondence in your name
C. Evidence of continuous legal possession
- GST certificate (named in reports)
- Electricity bills (named in reports)
- Trade licence, shop-and-establishment registration, old tax returns showing the shop address
D. Income-slab evidence
- Income tax returns or other income proof — which form is accepted has not been reported
- Affidavit or certificate, if the rules ask for one
E. Shop identification
- Shop number, market name and location
- Area measurement / site plan
- Municipal property record
F. Forms and declarations
- The prescribed application form — not located yet
- Any undertaking, affidavit or no-dues certificate the authority asks for
Reports say GST certificates, electricity bills and voter cards “can be submitted” as proof of occupation. That reads as examples, not as a single required set. Whether one of them is enough is something only the committee can tell you. Gather several, and make sure the shop address and your name match across all of them.
How to Apply — Step-by-Step Process
The sequence below combines the reported committee process with sensible preparation. Steps 1–5 are your homework. Steps 6–11 depend on rules we could not verify, and we mark them so.
- Identify the owning body. Is your shop owned by a Municipal Corporation, Council or Nagar Panchayat? Your rent receipts usually show who collects the rent.
- Check that your tenancy fits. Are you the original tenant or lessee, and can you show 12 years of legal possession before 1 April 2020?
- Ask for the application form. No official form or link has been published that we could verify. Ask the municipal office directly.
- Collect your evidence. Possession, tenancy, identity and income records, as in the section above.
- Work out your slab and shop size. Confirm your annual income band, and get the shop area measured or confirmed from municipal records.
- Submit before 6 November 2026. Reports say applications go to the concerned local body’s office. Unclear whether this is by hand, by post or online.
- Get an acknowledgment. Ask for a stamped, dated receipt or reference number for your file.
- Answer queries promptly. If officials ask for more records, reply in writing and keep a copy.
- SDM-level scrutiny. Media-reported An SDM-level committee scrutinises applications.
- DC-level price decision. Media-reported A committee at the Deputy Commissioner’s level determines the price. The concerned local body then passes the required resolution.
- Payment and transfer. Unclear How and when you pay, whether in instalments, and how the ownership document is issued and registered has not been reported.
Applying does not make you the owner
Nothing in the reports says ownership passes when you submit a form. It follows scrutiny, a price decision, a resolution by the local body, and presumably payment and registration. Until you hold the final document, you are still a tenant.
Where Can You Apply?
Per Punjab News Express, applications are to be made at Municipal Council and Municipal Corporation offices. Babushahi says “the concerned local body offices.” That is the only route reported.
- Direct application link: none verified. No online facility has been reported.
- Application form PDF: none verified.
- Punjab eServices portal (eservices.punjab.gov.in): this is a general certificates and services portal. When we checked, it did not mention this scheme. Do not assume it is the application page.
- Local Government Department: its website, lgpunjab.gov.in, carried no notice or form for this scheme when we looked. Check it again, because that may change.
Before you travel, phone the executive officer’s or commissioner’s office of your municipal body and ask three things: Is the form available? Is it submitted in person? What is the cut-off time on 6 November?
Questions to Ask Before Applying
Most of these have no reported answer yet. Get the answers in writing.
| Topic | What to ask | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Outstanding rent | Must all arrears be cleared before applying, or before ownership is granted? | Unclear |
| Litigation | Can someone with a pending case about the shop apply? The minister said many properties are in litigation, so ask whether the scheme addresses them. | Unclear |
| Joint tenancy / inheritance | If the tenancy passed to you from a parent or is shared, who applies and what proof of succession is needed? See our note on property partition rules in India. | Unclear |
| Shop size | Which measurement is used, and in which unit (sq m or sq yd)? | Conflicting |
| Income proof | Whose income, which year, which document? | Unclear |
| Valuation | Which collector rate applies to my market, and as on which date? | Unclear |
| Charges and schedule | Any registration, stamp duty or other fee on top? Lump sum or instalments? What are the deadlines? | Unclear |
| Type of right | Is it full freehold ownership, and will it be registered? See Punjab stamp duty & registration for how registration costs normally work. | Unclear |
Common Mistakes to Avoid
- Assuming a private shop is covered. The scheme is about municipal property only.
- Treating a news article, including this one, as an approval or a rulebook. Only the notified rules and your municipality’s written instructions count.
- Assuming every shop size gets the concession. The reports tie the slabs to shops under 50 square metres.
- Submitting documents that do not match. A different spelling of your name or a different shop number on each paper invites questions.
- Paying a middleman. No agent is mentioned in the scheme. Pay only through official channels and keep receipts.
- Missing the deadline. The reported date is 6 November 2026. Aim to submit well before it.
- Assuming an application guarantees approval. It starts a scrutiny process, not a title.
Local View: Mohali, Zirakpur & the Tricity
Many of the older markets around Mohali, Zirakpur, Kharar and Dera Bassi sit under municipal bodies, so shopkeepers there may well be affected. Whether your own shop is municipal-owned is a records question, not something we can tell from the street.
Two clarifications for readers across the Tricity. Chandigarh is a Union Territory with its own administration, and Panchkula is in Haryana. Neither is covered by this Punjab scheme. Shops in sectors developed by GMADA or by private developers are generally sold as freehold or leasehold under different rules, so they sit outside this scheme as well. If you are unsure which category your shop is in, ask for the allotment or rent record before anything else.
NRI and out-of-town owners: if a family shop in a Punjab municipal market is run by relatives while you live abroad, the reports do not say who may apply or whether a power of attorney holder can. Ask in writing. Our NRI property investment guide explains how POAs normally work in property matters.
Buyers and investors: be careful with anyone offering to “sell” you a municipal shop tenancy on the promise that the scheme will convert it to ownership. Until a shop has been formally transferred, the seller does not have title to give. For a wider look at how shops compare with other assets, see plots vs flats vs commercial property.
Pros and Cons
| Potential benefits | Points to weigh |
|---|---|
| A chance to hold title instead of renting a municipal shop for life | Rules, form and price process are not yet public in full |
| Concessional slabs, from 12.5% of collector rate, for lower-income applicants | Concession reported only for shops under 50 sq m |
| Possible end to rent-increase or eviction worries | Final amount depends on valuation and committee decisions |
| An owned shop is easier to mortgage, pass on or sell | Short window: reported deadline of 6 November 2026 |
| Documentation said to be flexible, with examples such as electricity bills and GST certificates | Sub-tenants and shops on public land are excluded |
Who Should Apply Now — and Who Should Wait
Move quickly if you are the named tenant of a municipal shop, have been in possession since before April 2008, and can pull together rent, GST or electricity records for those years.
Slow down and get clarity if your tenancy is shared, inherited, in litigation, or your shop size is near the limit. A rushed application that is rejected on a technicality costs time you do not have.
This scheme is not for you if you rent from a private owner, or you are a sub-tenant.
Expert Insights
Royals Editorial View
In property matters, the first announcement is rarely the last word. Notifications, forms and clarifications usually follow, and the details often shift. The sensible approach for a shopkeeper is to prepare the file now, since the 12-year proof is the hard part, and then fit it to the final form when it appears.
One habit pays off in every property matter: keep every paper in one folder, in date order, with photocopies. Rent receipts from fifteen years back are often the strongest evidence you have.
Royals Property Consultant is a property education and guidance brand. We are not an authorised agent of the Punjab Government or any municipal body, we cannot file this application for you, and we cannot guarantee eligibility, approval or transfer of ownership.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. What is the Meri Dukan Mere Naam scheme 2026?
2. Who can apply?
3. What is the last date to apply?
4. Is a private rented shop eligible?
5. How many years of legal possession are required?
6. What is the collector-rate payment for EWS applicants?
7. Do concessional rates apply to shops above 50 square metres?
8. Can a sub-tenant apply?
9. Can an applicant with pending litigation apply?
10. Where can the application form be obtained?
11. Is online application available?
12. Does applying automatically make the tenant the owner?
13. What should a shopkeeper do if the municipality rejects the application?
Final Verdict
The Meri Dukan Mere Naam scheme could be a real chance for long-standing municipal tenants in Punjab to own their shops, at concessional slabs for smaller shops. It is also, at the moment, a scheme known mainly through press reports. Key points — the size limit, income definition, documents, fees and appeal rights — are not settled in anything we could read.
So the advice is simple. Confirm your shop is municipal-owned. Start collecting possession and income records now. Get the form and the rules from your local body. And do not wait until the last week of October to find out what is missing.
Have a Question About Your Shop? Ask Royals on WhatsApp
Fill this in. It opens WhatsApp with your message pre-filled to Manindar Verma. No email or signup. We share general property guidance; we cannot file government applications for you.
🔒 Goes straight to Manindar Verma’s WhatsApp (+91 98787 59508).📥 Free Download: Smart Buyer Guide
18 chapters on safe property buying in Mohali and Zirakpur — RERA checks, fraud red flags and document checklists.
Related Reading from Royals
- Punjab Property Today’s News 2026
- Chandigarh New Rent Law 2026: Tenant & Landlord Rights
- Illegal Property Possession 2026: BNS Law Fact-Check
- Royals Blog & News · Properties in Mohali · Properties in Zirakpur
Sources (checked 10 October 2026)
- The Tribune, 8 Oct 2026 — Punjab launches ‘Meri Dukan Mere Ban’ scheme
- Babushahi, 8 Oct 2026 — 12 Years in Possession? Punjab shopkeepers can now claim ownership
- Punjab News Express — Punjab government launches ‘Meri Dukan, Mere Naam’ scheme
- UNI — Punjab offers shop ownership rights to long-term tenants
- TeamLease RegTech — Punjab Management and Transfer of Municipal Properties (Amendment) Rules, 2026 (31 Jan 2026 notification; covers chunk sites and instalments, not this scheme)
Need expert guidance for buying, selling, or investing in property across Mohali, Zirakpur, Chandigarh, Panchkula, and New Chandigarh?
Contact Royals Property Consultant for professional assistance and market insights.
Office: TTT 9th Floor, Near Radisson Hotel, Patiala Highway, Zirakpur · Alternate: +91 78378 63469
Disclaimer: This article is for general information. It is based on news reports of a government announcement and was last checked on 10 October 2026. It is not legal advice and not an official notification. Eligibility, rates, forms and deadlines may change. Confirm everything with the concerned municipal authority or a qualified lawyer. Royals Property Consultant is not an authorised agent of the Punjab Government or any local body.
Meri Dukan Mere Naam scheme, Meri Dukan Mere Naam scheme 2026, Meri Dukan Mere Ban, Punjab municipal shop ownership, Punjab shopkeeper ownership scheme, municipal shop ownership Punjab, Harjot Singh Bains shop scheme, collector rate shop ownership Punjab, rented municipal shop ownership, 12 years possession shop Punjab, Meri Dukan Mere Naam eligibility, Meri Dukan Mere Naam last date, Meri Dukan Mere Naam documents, Meri Dukan Mere Naam how to apply, Punjab shop tenant ownership rights
